New Books Highlight: History, Mystery, and Just Plain Fun

While not every week brings a delightful shower of new books with their glistening covers and super crisp pages, this week does. Here’s a highlight of a few that sound extra special!

Silhouette of a Sparrow by Molly Beth Griffin

A bit of historical fiction for you lovers of that genre. Set in the 1920s, our heroine Garnet is a girl with little freedom. Her life is planned for her, and perhaps that’s why she so admires birds, who have the freedom to fly where they wish. When Garnet is sent to a small Minnesota town to spend the summer with relatives, she finds herself able to spread her wings and explore. Fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Julie Anne Peters will find a lot to love here!

Dodger by Terry Pratchett

If you’re already a fan of Pratchett, run don’t walk to this book. In Dodger, Pratchett takes on the character of the Artful Dodger from Charles Dickens’ Oliver Twist, but brings him to life in a different way: Dodger is a young street urchin whose adventures are fraught with hilarity. Along the way, he meets a variety of fictional and real characters from Victorian London including Dickens himself, the mad barber Sweeney Todd, and the politician Benjamin Disraeli. Pratchett proves history and humor can coexist!

The Unnaturalists by Tiffany Trent

In this steampunk-ish novel, heroine Vespa Nyx dreams of spending her life working in her father’s Museum of Unnatural Things (don’t you wish that existed for real?) in New London, but is under pressure to behave as a proper young lady should by getting married and settling down. But Vespa might be a witch in a time and place when witchcraft is the greatest crime, so things are anything but proper. Her fate is tied to that of Tinker Syrus Reed, and their unraveling of intrigue may mean saving their entire world.

And for those nonfiction buffs, or anyone looking for something hilariously fun to read (and do) please check out:

Unbored: The Essential Field Guide to Serious Fun by Joshua Glenn and Elizabeth Foy Larsen

This book is awesome. Ideas for being unbored include: training your parents to be ninjas, making a secret book safe, becoming a yarn bomber, and making a stop-motion movie. This book gets extra cool points for being super informative on both topics that really matter (recycling, eating healthy, doing good things for the world and people in it), and stuff that is just cool (cryptozoology). Guaranteed you’ll be less than just “unbored” with this book.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: