New Books Highlight

There are lots of awesome new YA books at Shorewood Library! Which should you read first? How about sequels to books you gushed over, and the first book in a new series that is totally gush-worthy, too?

Blackwatch by Jenna Burtenshaw

In this sequel to 2011’s Shadowcry, Kate Winters finds herself being hunted by the Blackwatch and people she thought she could trust. She’s the only one who can use the magic held within the ancient text the Wintercraft, and could thus be a powerful weapon if her people could only capture her. With the help of murderous traitor Silas Dane, to whom her fate is linked, Kate must find a way to save Albion.

Shadows by Ilsa Bick

Shadows is the second book in the Ashes Trilogy (Ashes, the first book, came out in 2011) and holds even more heart-topping dark thrills than the first. In a post-apocalyptic world, Alex must fight for her life against the demons created from the fall of the world – both the Changed, who want to eat her alive, and the still-human survivors who don’t trust her. As with all great post-apocalyptic and dystopian fiction, Bick eerily portrays a world so like our own, yet has been utterly altered in a way that seems almost feasible.

A Midsummer Tight’s Dream by Louise Rennison

On a lighter note, check out this latest installment in Louise Rennison’s hilarious and super-Brit series about Tallulah Casey (Withering Tights is the first book about Tallulah, following on the heels of Rennison’s classic series about Georgia Nicholson). Tallulah is back for another term at Dother Hall, this time as part of the performing arts program. The school is in financial trouble, though, so not only does she have to avoid making a fool of herself while Irish dancing, be a hit in the production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, and get better at snogging, but she’s got to help keep the school from closing, too! Laugh after riotous laugh is promised.

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

This is book one of Brennan’s new series The Lynburn Legacy, author of the Demon’s Lexicon trilogy. Kami Glass has her life pretty much held together, even though she’s in love with a boy who seems to exist only in her head (and to whom she is sometimes caught speaking aloud). But when the Lynburns return to reclaim their manor house in Kami’s tiny English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale (awesome name!), Kami is suddenly faced with questions that need answers. Including whether or not she still loves her imaginary friend now that he seems to be a real boy…

Click the book cover images to see whether or not each title is available in CountyCat!

%d bloggers like this: