Grace by Elizabeth Scott

“…my body had never been my own.  It was the People’s…I never thought of it as something other than a vessel–an Angel is a messenger and nothing more–until I looked up at a cloudless blue sky and thought not of the Saints or even the People.  I just thought it was a pretty sky, and was glad to see it.  I realized I wanted to keep seeing it.”

Grace is an Angel, a person selected to die for the People’s cause.  She trains and prepares for the day she’ll put a bomb on her leg and complete her mission of killing a prominent member of the dictator’s ruling party.  But when Grace realizes she doesn’t want to die,  she begins a harrowing journey of escape.

Elizabeth Scott powerfully describes how Grace questions her beliefs and the reason for her existence.

